Discuss as:

Robert Griffin III of Baylor University wins 2011 Heisman

Kelly Kline / Pool via Reuters

Baylor University quarterback Robert Griffin III, center, holds the Heisman Trophy after winning the award during a ceremony in New York, Dec. 10. The Heisman Trophy is awarded annually to the outstanding college football player of the year.


Jeff Zelevansky / Getty Images

Robert Griffin III shows off his Superman socks.

From CFT:

RGIII grabbed 405 of 846 first-place votes and 1,687 points to take home the trophy; Luck had 247 first place points and 1,407 points; Richardson received 138 first place votes and 978 points. Ball and Matheiu finished fourth and fifth in the voting, respectively.

“This is unbelievably believable,” Griffin III said in his acceptance speech. “To Baylor nation, I say this is a forever moment, may we be blessed enough to have more of these in the future.”

Griffin won 5 of 6 voting regions, with the exception being the Far West region, which was won by Luck.  However, votes for Boise State’s Kellen Moore and USC’s Matt Barkley cut into Luck’s voting — perhaps just enough to keep last year’s runner-up in the same spot this year.

Read the full story here.

Rod Aydelotte / Waco Tribune Herald via AP

Baylor University students react after quarterback Robert Griffin III won the Heisman Trophy award during a watch party on campus, Dec. 10, in Waco, Texas.